Remember in the Bible when the Holy Spirit would not allow Paul to go into Asia? That is an example of a negative divine appointment. These are times when the circumstances work out that we are unable to do what appears to us to be the thing to do at the time. You may have it in your mind to go and visit someone you know who is sick or to visit someone lonely but no matter how hard you try one thing after another interferes and you are unable to go and comfort them. I’m sure you know what I mean.

On other occasions you may find the circumstances are ripe for a divine appointment. The positive divine appointment occurs when God tells you to go and do such and such for so and so. Still others you may be told to go to a certain place and wait until God calls you. He is setting you up to arrive at the most opportune time to accomplish His will.

In my experience, I have found that many times, I will be asked to pray for the sick or dying. Then occasionally, the appointment is to just be a set of ears that really hears what the person is saying. To use the gift of discernment as a tool to comfort, encourage, and uplift them.

Usually, at the beginning of the appointment, the Holy Spirit will give me the “this is it” signal. I am aware of His presence as I begin talking to the person and scriptures begin to come to mind. I repeat them to the person because they are “a Word fitly spoken.” What happens is that the Holy Spirit uses my mouth to give a Word of knowledge or a personal prophecy.

One time, I was on the telephone with tech support for my job and the technician put me on hold. The Holy Spirit urged me to pray for a good session and to praise God for the solution to my problem. So I quietly prayed aloud. Each thing the Spirit asked me to pray I prayed. I asked to bless the technician and to make it easy for them to find the solution. I asked for God to relieve any stress that might cause the technician worry or uneasiness. I prayed that the solution they came up with would work and increase my productivity. Then I began to praise God for how He answers all of our prayers and how wonderful He is in all he puts his hand to do. Shortly after I said the prayer, the technician came back on and said she had the solution and walked me through the fix step by step. The session went very smoothly and I was delighted to find that indeed God had answered my prayers. At the very end of the session the technician said that even though she thought she had put me on hold that she could hear my prayer and said that her day had started out frazzled and when she heard me pray the Holy Spirit comforted her and made it very easy for her to find what she needed. She told me that she felt the presence of the Holy Spirit unlike she had ever felt before and she thanked me for my prayers on her behalf.

I knew going in that this was a divine appointment. Even though I did not know the woman or have any foreknowledge of her day or experience level, I knew to yield to the Spirit and that all would work out in the end. The whole time I prayed the Spirit was upon me and I could feel His presence.

Another time, I attended a healing conference, and on the first night we were asked to pray for someone with something wrong with the arch of their foot. I thought to myself, how serious could that be? A Charlie horse maybe? So I felt led to pray for a woman in a pink suit. I asked her what was wrong with the arch of her foot and she told me that three years earlier she had surgery and the doctor had accidentally removed the wrong nerve.

In my mind, I instantly said to the Spirit, “Nerves? I can’t do nerves! You’ll have to do this one,” as if I could even cure a charlie horse. I was fairly new at praying for the sick, but I remember the Spirit urging me to ask her if there was something else she wanted to pray about. She began to sob and said, “Yes, my father in law is in the hospital in Wyoming and they aren’t sure what is wrong with him but he is going to have brain surgery. He can’t walk or talk and he is very confused. They think he might have alzheimers.

I thought to myself, oh wonderful, a thousand miles away no one will know whether the healing works or not. I felt a sense of relief like I had bitten off more than I could chew and this was going to get me off the hook.

I began to pray for her father in law and asked God to help the surgery to go smoothly and to help the doctors find the problem and to help him to heal quickly after the surgery.

Then the Holy Spirit urged me to ask if I could pray for her foot. So I did. As I was reaching down I saw something happening to her foot. I asked, “What was that?”

She said, “I don’t know what it is.”

We both agreed on what we had seen and just agreed to start thanking God for whatever he was doing with her foot.

The next morning when she arrived at the conference she told me that for the first time she didn’t have to wiggle her foot before she got out of bed and that it used to feel as though she had a sock bunched up in her shoe all of the time but now it was completely gone.

A month later she came back to our regular service to tell me that her father in law’s surgery was a complete success, that the doctors said it went very smoothly, and that he could walk and talk and there was no alzheimers disease.

It was after this conference that I noticed my faith became Faith. I saw God from a whole new paradigm. I knew that He was and that He was a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

By faith Enoch was translated that he should not see death; and was not found, because God had translated him: for before his translation he had this testimony, that he pleased God.

But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

By faith Noah, being warned of God of things not seen as yet, moved with fear, prepared an ark to the saving of his house; by the which he condemned the world, and became heir of the righteousness which is by faith.

Divine appointments are our opportunity to put our hands to what God is doing. We can accept the appointment by yielding to the Spirit and instantly following His instructions no matter how impossible it may seem to us at the time.

