Miracles are a difficult topic because of the potential for abuse. Even Christ’s disciples were leery.

38 And John answered him, saying, Master, we saw one casting out devils in thy name, and he followeth not us: and we forbad him, because he followeth not us.

39 But Jesus said, Forbid him not: for there is no man which shall do a miracle in my name, that can lightly speak evil of me.

40 For he that is not against us is on our part.

A miracle for me might be an everyday occurrence for you and vise-versa.  The dictionary defines it as:  

a surprising and welcome event that is not explicable by natural or scientific laws and is therefore considered to be the work of a divine agency.

 

It doesn’t do us much good to have miracles in our lives if we can’t recognize them.  I’ve seen different levels of miracles from everything falling into place to a miraculous healing. The first miracle Jesus ever did was turning water into wine.

I find it true what Christ said about not being able to speak evil of Him once He allows you to see a miracle. It truly changes your whole paradigm. You see this world from a whole new perspective. You are really never the same again.

I remember the old woman with the jars in the Old Testament that just kept filling them and the oil stopped at the top of the last jar. Many will write that one off to coincidence. But I have seen in my own life how God’s economy is not the world’s economy. How He fed 5,000 with five loaves and two fish. Then the really strange part was when the people forgot about it right after it happened.

It is really hard not to want to explain away what we saw with our own eyes. What was that? We ask ourselves. It seems so unbelievable. Maybe, I was dreaming or maybe someone played a trick on me or maybe somebody slipped some peyote into my cookie before the service.

So how do we recognize when God moves in our lives? Why does he only do it sometimes and not every time? It is sometimes easier to believe He would do it for someone else, someone who was a celebrity, or more important than me.

Once I had torn a rotator cuff in my shoulder and I could only lift my arm a few inches from my side. A man from our church prayed for me and I was able to not only raise my arm over my head but the physical therapist that had been treating me said she wished she had a movie of the before and after because she couldn’t believe her eyes either. Then two years later it happened again with the other arm.

For me those were miracles.

I’ve had so many I could write a book.

I’ve seen miracles in my sleep. One time, I had a dream that I was in a class room sitting at a desk and I had a slate in my hand like they used centuries ago. I was writing a list of my sins and as I wrote them Christ would cross them off and then they would disappear and I saw each one disappearing but I couldn’t remember what they were even and Christ said to me, “Neither do I remember.” I awoke feeling so totally forgiven.

For me that was a miracle.

Over and over through the years, I have seen Him replenish my tithe in all manner of ways; sudden refunds from insurance companies, refunds, rebates, lost accounts among others.

It boils down to always giving God the credit for the good in our lives.

Some of the most astounding miracles I’ve seen have come when I forgave someone. I’ve witnessed my own broken heart healed by divine grace.

Just keep praying for healing and watch what He can do. He can and He will.

