My blog has been asking a lot of “How” questions lately. But today we are going to turn our attention to the “why” of it all.

One of the most difficult questions we can ask is why are there babies born with birth defects. The bible tells us of a man who was born blind and Jesus tells the disciples that he was born blind so that the glory of God could be revealed.

I have to admit that my puny mind has difficulty unraveling that. I know that God is capable of healing anything. I’ve often wondered if we should be praying in earnest for these children.

One of the reasons that this topic is so sensitive to me is that when I was a child my older sister had a baby that was born with spina bifida and hydrocephalus among other birth defects. I went to the University of Washington to study birth defects when I was a teenager. I learned about chromosomes and genes.

I have to admit, I’ve always had an uneasiness around people who were mentally retarded. I had a cousin who had the mind of a five year old as an adult. I’ve seen other family members born “slow”. I babysat a little girl when I was a teenager that was for all practical purposes a “vegetable.”

I’ve prayed about this in earnest. Why God? Why?

19 Thou wilt say then unto me, Why doth he yet find fault? For who hath resisted his will?

20 Nay but, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed it, Why hast thou made me thus?

21 Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?

Do these verses apply to birth defects? Who are we to question God?

I’ve seen other people who are able to love these children and find great joy in doing so. They nurture and protect them and raise them up in the way they should go and when they are old they do not depart from it.

God be praised.

Is this the venue by which God’s mercy is brought to the forefront? Is God glorified by the love these people show to the “least of these”?

I may never know this side of heaven the answers to these questions. But in our search to find God, find others, and find ourselves we may find them all in the arms of Jesus.

