You are feeling down because there is more month left at the end of the money. There is a saying that if your friend is out of a job it is a recession but if you are out of work it is a depression.

How do you keep your wits about you with no job or no prospect of a job in sight?  When you find yourself in this precarious position you can see the wonders of God’s love, mercy, and grace in your life as you truly look to him from day to day. Start by thanking God for what you do have in your life. Put on a spirit of gratitude. Immerse yourself in praising and thanking God. Pray in the Spirit with all earnestness. Remember that even before your prayer is finished, God is working to change your circumstances. He careth for you.

In my own situation, I could see God’s mighty hand as he moved people from position to position making room for me at the top. Month after month I waited upon God working diligently so that my superiors could see my value. I was passed over for positions that would not use my strengths. God kept his mighty hand on my job and me. Then on one winter night the company closed their doors for two weeks. How would I live with out any pay? Could I trust God to carry me through? Just at that same time I had extra expenses for customer satisfaction, Christmas, and my sons’ birthday. My son needed money to pay his college tuition. My property taxes were due. My washer broke down and I had to replace it. It was as if the devil knew I was down so he kicked me a little more.

But Praise the Lord; God had a better plan for me. He wanted to teach me to trust, trust, and trust. For in my weakness He was strong. Because I wasn’t working, I had time to go see my family a thousand miles away. My husband went with me.

The new washer I got was the very best that money could buy, a Maytag Neptune with front load. I’m very short and had spent decades with a top loader that bruised my ribs once week.

“Give, and it shall be given unto you: good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.”

I do not know if I had more or that I was just more thankful for what I did have. It doesn’t matter. All that matters is that I had needs and my Father in heaven met my needs. “Like as a father pitieth his children, so the Lord pitieth them that fear him”. God took pity on me in my hour of need and he can and will do the same for you. He can bless you wherever you are in whatever circumstance.

“For he knoweth our frame; he remembereth that we are dust.”

So whether you are currently going through a recession or a depression, take heart because God has a better plan for you.

Pray this prayer with me now:

            “Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my cry come unto thee. Hide not thy face from me in the day when I am in trouble; incline thine ear unto me; in the day when I call answer speedily.  For my days are consumed like smoke, and my bones are burned as an hearth. My heart is smitten and withered like grass, so that I forget to eat my bread. By reason of the voice of my groaning my bones cleave to my skin. I am like a pelican of the wilderness I am like an owl of the desert. I watch and am as a sparrow alone upon the housetop.  For I have eaten ashes like bread, and mingled my drink with weeping, because of thine indignation and thy wrath for thou hast lifted me up, and cast me down. My days are like a shadow that declineth and I am withered like grass. Amen”

Supplication is to make humble and earnest entreaty. Let your prayer be a supplication that goes up to God in heaven. YOU shall see that God answers prayer. He is omnipresent and omnipotent. “And all things, whatsoever ye shall ask in prayer believing, ye shall receive.”

Keeping your wits comes from trusting God even when you see no way out. Financial Serenity will be the brass ring you can never quite reach if you do not put your trust in God.  Making wise financial decisions can mean the difference between recession and depression for you.   The current economy of some ten trillion dollars is not the same beast that plagued our parents of the 20’s and 30’s. They lived through the “Great Depression.”  Every time has its’ challenges. There is nothing new under heaven. Each of us feels that our age is somehow unique, different, or exempt from the rules. But no, God’s laws are the same yesterday, today and forever.

 

 

 

 

 

