One of the hardest things to do is to let go. Sometimes, we give things to God only to take them back again. We say, “Oh, I’m not going to worry about that problem anymore, I’m going to let God take care of it.”  But then when he doesn’t do it fast enough for us or to our liking we take back the burden that isn’t really ours in the first place. Throughout the bible are stories of how God provided. Remember, Manna from heaven? Remember quail from heaven? Remember water from a rock? Remember 5,000 fed from 5 loaves of bread? Remember?

The Bible says, “Where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

Is your heart in the right place? Do you treasure God’s gifts? Or do you question every move in your life that he makes?

This reminds me of the first time I was really “on my own”, so to speak. I counted every piece of bread to see how many days a loaf would last. It seems almost silly now, but then even though I trusted God, I was afraid. I prayed every day over and over for the same old things.

The Bible says, “As you believe, so be it unto you.”

I wanted with all my heart to believe God for everything in my life, but somehow I couldn’t let go. I kept trying and trying to make the money stretch to the end of the month so I could make it to the next paycheck. I never really trusted that God loved me enough to provide for my basic needs. I learned that there was a spirit of lack that pervaded my life completely. I didn’t only lack money; I lacked other things as well. I lacked joy, peace, and love.

Then one day in church, our Pastor prayed for our congregation. He reached out his hand and blessed me and I was blessed indeed. My subconscious mind was trying to accept it and I had a dream where I had worked very hard for some money that I knew was mine and I really deserved it. But God stepped in and said to me in my dream, “I’ll take that.”

I was astounded and shocked! How unfair, I thought. So, I blurted out to God in the stingiest voice I ever heard. That’s mine. I earned it. I deserve it.

Then, God said, “Here, I’ll give you 10% of it.”

I shouted back at Him, “That’s nothing! How could you be so stingy, that’s my money?” As the words were coming out of my mouth in the dream, I came to the realization of just how small a tithe really is out of all that God gives us. From that day forward, I gladly give God “His” share.  I know now that all I have is his and at any moment he can take away any amount he needs. He could test me like Job if he wanted to. He could take away my job, my health, and my home. But he hasn’t. He has blessed me beyond measure. It is the joy and the peace and love that mean more to me than all the rest. I’m glad I saw the truth in a dream that affirmed what my pastor said to me.

I know that being a Christian doesn’t guarantee worldly wealth, but it does guarantee treasures in heaven.

My husband and I frequently pray the Jabez Prayer: “Oh that thou would bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that your hand might be with me, and that thou would keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me!”

It never ceases to amaze us how God continues to answer that prayer by bringing people into our lives that we can bless through the Lord.

Matthew 20:21 Jesus said unto him, “If thou wilt be perfect, go and sell that thou hast, and give to the poor and thou shall have treasure in heaven: and come and follow me.”

The kingdom of  heaven is within you. The kingdom of heaven is at hand.

Matthew 6:19-20 “Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.”

