Of all the pursuits of men, there are none so worthwhile as the pursuit of God. For in this endeavor men are able to accomplish their highest goals. It is in the pursuit of their Creator that men use their time to the fullest.

Jeremiah 29:13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Hebrews 11:6 but without faith it is impossible to please him for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.

It takes faith to see God.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. 

The pursuit takes all of men’s desire.  Their will becomes focused on finding him.

It is a conscious decision to pursue hi.  It is by the power of the Holy Spirit that evidence of his presence becomes evident.  We see first the signs of his presence through answered prayers, the Word coming alive before our eyes, and just like the wind moves the branches of the tree, God moves too. His actions speak louder than his words.

It has been my experience that when God shows up miracles happen.

You would need to be willing to recognize these events as the miracles they are rather than labeling them coincidences.

Examples of these events would include your remembering the scriptures you need at the precise moment they are needed for prayer, encouragement and understanding.

John 14:26 But the Comforter which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.

The tools necessary for this pursuit of God include a bible, prayer, and a desire to find him.  It is important to use all of the skills of observation in your pursuit.  Use all of your senses. You may hear him, smell him, touch him, taste him or see him.

In the Old Testament in the book of 2 Chronicles chapter 30 there was a king named Hezekiah who prayed, “the good LORD pardon everyone that prepareth his heart to seek God, the LORD God of his fathers, though he be no cleansed according to the purification of the sanctuary.”  And the LORD hearkened to Hezekiah, and healed the people.

You do not have to be perfect to pursue God.  He loves his creation. He knows your heart and your desire to seek his face.  He wants to be found by you.

The pursuit should be diligent.

The first step is to be quiet.  Psalm 46:10 Be still and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.

You can’t hear God if you are talking. In this age of electronics there will be a thousand distractions. You need to be in a quiet place.  No buzzers, or beepers, or ringing telephones. No clocks ticking or motors running on the fridge.

Just now I hear the bubbles from the fish tanks, the creaking sound of the house settling, and the hum of the air conditioner running.  It’s early morning, 5:30 a.m., and the neighbor drove off to work.  Their pool pump is humming in the distance.

Is it no wonder that silence is hard to find?

The enemy will be hard at work to distract you. I hear the toilet flushing, the door knob turning and the flip flops as my husband leaves the bathroom.

In my own head there is a constant ringing in my ears.

Just then a message on my cell phone that causes a tone to go off.  LORD, help me to be still and to know that you are God.

The second step is to exalt Him. Praise his Holy name. Sing praise. this step is preparing your heart for the next step.

The third step is confession. And follow it with more praise and worship. It is like a sandwich where praise  is the bread and confession is the meat. 

The fourth step is to wait patiently. Meditate on the LORD.  Listen for him. Be aware of changes in the way you feel.  Be aware of changes in the atmosphere. Remember to breathe. Invoke the Holy Spirit, “Come Holy Spirit.”

At about 6:18 He came.

You may be asking yourself, What do I do once he comes?

It was a question I struggled with through the years. I also questioned was it really happening? Why would he want to visit me? What was I to do with it?  Thank him for his presence in your life, for his mercy and grace, for his free gift of salvation. Accept it.  He wants you to know you are cleansed by the blood of Jesus.

Put your hands out in front of you as though receiving a gift.  You may even feel your arms and hands feel as though you are lifting something heavy.

At times it feels as though my hands are magnetized and they seem to be pushing against each other like two big magnets.

Magnets are often used to relieve pain of headache, earache, toothache, backache, bruises, and arthritis.

When he comes I often have empathy pains in different parts of my body which helps me to remember others who are suffering so I can pray for their healing.  A part of His presences opens up the word to us. Part of it allows us to prophecy and speak truth into the lives of others.  Whenever this happens I can feel the fire in my heart as I speak and I know that it is Him.  He comes with such a sweet gentleness.

I always feels so honored to be used by Him to speak a word of knowledge or a word of wisdom into someone’s life.  Sometimes he uses you when you least expect it around known agnostics or even atheists.

Many times he uses you to encourage and uplift fellow Christians. 

It is important to remember while praying for the sick that it is an opportunity to be used.  There is no need to worry about what he will do.  He may or may not heal the person but it is certain he won’t if you don’t pray for them when given the opportunity.  Remember also to pray over handkerchiefs and send them when it is not possible to pray in person.

God can do anything he wants to do. He can and does heal through distant prayer when the laying on of hands in not possible.  The pain and suffering that people go through can be made bearable through prayer of even completely obliterated.

Over and over I have seen others healed of pain whether physical, mental, or emotional.  God is good.

 

 

 

