Let’s begin with a prayer this morning: LORD, lead us to your truth. Open our eyes, LORD, we want to see you. Open our ears, LORD, we want to listen. Let the meditation of our hearts be pleasing in your sight. Inspire each word to your purpose. May the light of your presence, bring us grace sufficient for this day’s plan. In Jesus Christ. Amen.

Each morning, upon awakening, the first thought in my head usually takes the form of something that compels me to action that is laid out in such a way that it quickens my body to respond to a specific detail on a map (God’s Plan for my life) that directs my steps. Throughout the day, I know I am on the right path because this same thought repeats itself over and over both as a reminder of where I am going and how I am going to get there. This thought is what I call inspiration. (In-Spirit).

Due to free will, I can make a choice to either follow that inspiration or not.

When I follow the inspiration it begins with prayer, bible study, praises, listening for God’s voice, thinking about what He tells me, and then acting on what He has said. When I do this, there is peace in Him. There is an absolute joy that comes from obedience. I feel inspired because I am inspired.

You see, my heart’s desire becomes to be righteous because He is righteous, to be Holy because He is holy, and to be pure because He is pure. When my heart is right with God, then I am free to allow the Holy Spirit to do His work in my life. He can live and move and have His being in my body. He acts out of love and patience and kindness through me. There is a joy just from watching it all and seeing what He will do next. It makes my days full of the peace that passes understanding. I see goodness everywhere. I see Him active in our lives. I see the grace He gives and it makes my heart thankful. I am humbled by His presence. The Spirit is so gentle and longsuffering. He abounds in forgiveness. It permeates Him. It allows me to be forgiving to others and to myself. I am weak but He is strong.

When I choose not to follow His inspiration, I unknowingly grieve Him. He anguishes for me over the unguided steps, the misdirected purposes, the wailing and groaning of the old self so evident in this choice. Not to mention the consequences. We miss out on so much in life when we go our own way and do the things we know we should not do.

Still, He gently nudges, hoping we will see and hear Him. You can’t see what you don’t look for in life. You can’t hear His call if you turn a deaf ear to Him.

Ephesians 4:30

30 And grieve not the Holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption.

Our proof that we are His is in that seal. That’s our deposit on a destiny to the pearly gates. That’s the passcode, that gets us past the gate; living in Him.

