This morning, and it is right early, I’d like to share with you the places God shows up in my life.

The reason I am doing this can be found in the first few verses of Psalm 105:

105 1-6 Hallelujah!

Thank God! Pray to him by name!
    Tell everyone you meet what he has done!
Sing him songs, belt out hymns,
    translate his wonders into music!
Honor his holy name with Hallelujahs,
    you who seek God. Live a happy life!
Keep your eyes open for God, watch for his works;
    be alert for signs of his presence.
Remember the world of wonders he has made,
    his miracles, and the verdicts he’s rendered—
        O seed of Abraham, his servant,
        O child of Jacob, his chosen.

And in Psalms 19

19 1-2 God’s glory is on tour in the skies,
    God-craft on exhibit across the horizon.
Madame Day holds classes every morning,
    Professor Night lectures each evening.

Now, yesterday morning, I watched the sunrise. It was not just any sunrise. There was a lightening storm complete with peals of thunder. It was mostly heat lightening but there were a few drops of water here and there.

During this “lecture”, I tried to take a picture of the lightening. But God just wasn’t having it! Part of the lesson was that it was just for me. That moment was between me and Him. I wasn’t expected to share it with anybody else.

Oh, believe me, I got some beautiful pictures of cloud formations and the moon as He held it perfectly still for the picture. But there was something different about that sunrise because God showed up. In all His glory, He shouted, “I am!”

Then later that same morning, we prayed with a man for a miracle that his wife be cured of alcoholism. Friend, God wants us to notice when He shows up. Everyone in that room knew that God had shown up during that prayer, and afterwards my husband looked toward heaven and cried, “Thank-you, God!”

He shows up in my dreams.

He is in the hugs of a one year old grandson.

He is in the smell of lilacs.

His angels stand guard at my door.

His voice can be heard in the morning chirps of birds.

I see His hand at work in my life every single day: providing, healing, and cleansing.

He is a wonderful God that makes my heart sing.

He does baptize with fire.

He does offer the cup of suffering.

And oh how He loves us!

