Move of God

Genesis1:1 In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.

And the earth was without form, and void; and darkness was upon the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God moved upon the face of the waters.

And God said, Let there be light: and there was light.

Even in the very beginning, God moved.

2 Chronicles 18:30-32King James Version (KJV)

30 Now the king of Syria had commanded the captains of the chariots that were with him, saying, Fight ye not with small or great, save only with the king of Israel.

31 And it came to pass, when the captains of the chariots saw Jehoshaphat, that they said, It is the king of Israel. Therefore they compassed about him to fight: but Jehoshaphat cried out, and the Lord helped him; and God moved them to depart from him.

32 For it came to pass, that, when the captains of the chariots perceived that it was not the king of Israel, they turned back again from pursuing him.

He moves in times of war.

Ezra 1New International Version (NIV)

Cyrus Helps the Exiles to Return

1 In the first year of Cyrus king of Persia, in order to fulfill the word of the Lord spoken by Jeremiah, the Lord moved the heart of Cyrus king of Persia to make a proclamation throughout his realm and also to put it in writing:

“This is what Cyrus king of Persia says:

“‘The Lord, the God of heaven, has given me all the kingdoms of the earth and he has appointed me to build a temple for him at Jerusalem in Judah. Any of his people among you may go up to Jerusalem in Judah and build the temple of the Lord, the God of Israel, the God who is in Jerusalem, and may their God be with them. And in any locality where survivors may now be living, the people are to provide them with silver and gold, with goods and livestock, and with freewill offerings for the temple of God in Jerusalem.’”

He moved the hearts of kings.

Then the family heads of Judah and Benjamin, and the priests and Levites—everyone whose heart God had moved—prepared to go up and build the house of the Lord in Jerusalem. All their neighbors assisted them with articles of silver and gold, with goods and livestock, and with valuable gifts, in addition to all the freewill offerings.

He moved the hearts of everyone.

 

Psalm 93:2 Your throne was established long ago;     you are from all eternity.

The seas have lifted up, Lord,     the seas have lifted up their voice;     the seas have lifted up their pounding waves.

He moved the seas.

 

Acts 17:28New International Version (NIV)

28 ‘For in him we live and move and have our being.’[a] As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’[b]

 

     We move in him.

 

2 Chronicles 30:11-13New International Version (NIV)

11 Nevertheless, some from Asher, Manasseh and Zebulun humbled themselves and went to Jerusalem. 12 Also in Judah the hand of God was on the people to give them unity of mind to carry out what the king and his officials had ordered, following the word of the Lord.

He moved the people into unity of mind.

Job 19:20-22New International Version (NIV)

20 I am nothing but skin and bones;     I have escaped only by the skin of my teeth.[a]

21 “Have pity on me, my friends, have pity,     for the hand of God has struck me. 22 Why do you pursue me as God does?     Will you never get enough of my flesh?

He pursues Job.

Exodus 9:13-15New International Version (NIV)

The Plague of Hail

13 Then the Lord said to Moses, “Get up early in the morning, confront Pharaoh and say to him, ‘This is what the Lord, the God of the Hebrews, says: Let my people go, so that they may worship me, 14 or this time I will send the full force of my plagues against you and against your officials and your people, so you may know that there is no one like me in all the earth. 15 For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the earth.

He pursues Pharaoh with plagues.

 

Amos 4:9-11New International Version (NIV)

“Many times I struck your gardens and vineyards,     destroying them with blight and mildew. Locusts devoured your fig and olive trees,     yet you have not returned to me,” declares the Lord.

10 I sent plagues among you     as I did to Egypt. I killed your young men with the sword,     along with your captured horses. I filled your nostrils with the stench of your camps,     yet you have not returned to me,” declares the Lord.

11 I overthrew some of you     as I overthrew Sodom and Gomorrah. You were like a burning stick snatched from the fire,     yet you have not returned to me,” declares the Lord.

Over and over He moves to bring His people to him.

Jeremiah 10:

10 But the Lord is the true God;     he is the living God, the eternal King. When he is angry, the earth trembles;     the nations cannot endure his wrath.

He moves the earth.

John 11: 33 When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who had come along with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in spirit and troubled. 34 “Where have you laid him?” he asked.

He is moved by our weeping.

He moves in our lives. He goes with us just like he went with the Israelites through the wilderness. “A cloud by day, and a pillar of fire by night.”

