When I graduated from the eighth grade, our neighbor across the street gave me a bible. It had a white cover, a zipper, and it was a red letter addition of the KJV. I remember the excitement of finally having my own bible. Up to that point, I had been using the family bible which was also my mother’s bible.

Right away, I started reading my bible, memorizing verses, so excited about what God had to say. The more I got into it the more I loved it. In a few short years that bible began to fall apart so I made a new cover for it out of a floral print fabric and used the same zipper. It wasn’t until I was in my forties that I finally got a new bible and yes it too is falling apart. I still have the old one on the headboard in my room.

Jesus tells us in the book of John that he is the “light of the world”:

John 8:12 12 When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

The enemy goes about blinding unbelievers to this light.

2 Corinthians 4:3-5 And even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing. The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel that displays the glory of Christ, who is the image of God. For what we preach is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake.

God made this light to shine in our hearts.

2 Corinthians 4:6-7 For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,”[a] made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ.

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.

The enemy masquerades as an angel of light.

2 Corinthians 11:14-15 14 And no wonder, for Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light. 15 It is not surprising, then, if his servants also masquerade as servants of righteousness. Their end will be what their actions deserve.

We are the children of light.

Ephesians 5:8-9 For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth)

