When I was in the eighth grade, I had a day of mourning where I cried all day in class. The teacher never made me quit, nor said I was disturbing the others in class. He just let me sob.

From Genesis to Revelations, we can find instances where people wept. Even Jesus wept.

John 11:34-36 34 “Where have you laid him?” he asked.

“Come and see, Lord,” they replied.

35 Jesus wept.

36 Then the Jews said, “See how he loved him!”

They were speaking of Lazarus, Jesus’ friend.

Luke 19:40-42

40 “I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.”

41 As he approached Jerusalem and saw the city, he wept over it 42 and said, “If you, even you, had only known on this day what would bring you peace—but now it is hidden from your eyes.

He wept over a city.

David also wept.

Psalm 6:5-7 Among the dead no one proclaims your name.
    Who praises you from the grave?

I am worn out from my groaning.

All night long I flood my bed with weeping
    and drench my couch with tears.
My eyes grow weak with sorrow;
    they fail because of all my foes.

Jeremiah wept.

Jeremiah 9:1 [a]Oh, that my head were a spring of water
    and my eyes a fountain of tears!
I would weep day and night
    for the slain of my people.

God keeps track of our tears.

Psalm 56:8 Record my misery;
    list my tears on your scroll[a]
    are they not in your record?

We are called to mourn with those who mourn.

Romans 12:14-16 14 Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. 15 Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. 16 Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position.[a] Do not be conceited.

 

