Where do you go when you need help? Some of us go to our parents, our friends, our pastors, our teachers.

How many of us go to God? Not as a last resort, but as our first source of help.

Psalm 121:1-2 I lift up my eyes to the mountains—
    where does my help come from?
My help comes from the Lord,
    the Maker of heaven and earth.

If we want God to help us, how can we get him to help us?  We call him. I don’t mean dial him up on the phone, I mean get down on your knees and pray!

Psalm 30:2 Lord my God, I called to you for help,
    and you healed me.

It’s okay to ask God to hurry up. If you are in an emergency you need to speak up!

Psalm 40:16-17 16 But may all who seek you
    rejoice and be glad in you;
may those who long for your saving help always say,
    “The Lord is great!”

17 But as for me, I am poor and needy;
    may the Lord think of me.
You are my help and my deliverer;
    you are my God, do not delay.

and Psalm 70:1 Hasten, O God, to save me;
    come quickly, Lord, to help me.

God does not want us to be afraid to ask him for help.

Psalm 46:1-3 God is our refuge and strength,
    an ever-present help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
    and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,
though its waters roar and foam
    and the mountains quake with their surging.

Hebrews 4:16 16 Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

You might think your situation is impossible today. Nothing is impossible with God.

Psalm 46:4-6 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
    the holy place where the Most High dwells.
God is within her, she will not fall;
    God will help her at break of day.
Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
    he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

God says in his word over and over that he will help us.

Isaiah 49:10 10 So do not fear, for I am with you;
    do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
    I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

1 Timothy 5:5 The widow who is really in need and left all alone puts her hope in God and continues night and day to pray and to ask God for help.

God even helps those who tell you about him in their blogs every day. (like me)

1 Thessalonians 2:2 but with the help of our God we dared to tell you his gospel.

