My first knowledge of the word redemption came off of the bottom of store coupons which gave the written promise, “redeemable for 1/20th of 1 cent.” Even as a child, I knew that we received coupons every week in our newspaper. So I sat down and cut coupons. After the first twenty my fingers were getting tired. So I turned to redeeming bottles which at that time were five cents for the small ones and ten cents for the big ones. Then I caught on to the idea of going door to door. At one house I would say, “Could you donate an egg for the poor?”  And at the next house I would say, “Would you buy an egg for a quarter for the poor?” Of course, I was the “poor”. That didn’t last too long before one of my neighbors taught me the meaning of the words, “No Soliciting.”

I understood the idea of exchanging.

Imagine my shock and horror when I learned that Jesus had to die to redeem us from our sins. Well, that seemed a bit drastic to me. I just don’t know if I would be willing to give up my life to save someone let alone the whole world. I always imagined the agony of crucifixion and thought, “How cruel!”

It wasn’t very long before my own sins began to weigh heavy on my heart and I began to think, “Maybe it is like the coupons, it’s too hard to redeem yourself.” So, I went forward in church to accept Jesus as my redeemer. You had to say it out loud back then in front of God and everybody so everybody knew you were a sinner. Then they dunked you under water the following Sunday and it was cold. I had to go under twice because my toe popped up the first time.

John 3:16 16 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

 

 

