Isaiah 61:1-3

61 The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,     because the Lord has anointed me     to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,     to proclaim freedom for the captives     and release from darkness for the prisoners,[a] to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor     and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn,     and provide for those who grieve in Zion— to bestow on them a crown of beauty     instead of ashes, the oil of joy     instead of mourning, and a garment of praise     instead of a spirit of despair. They will be called oaks of righteousness,     a planting of the Lord     for the display of his splendor.

When we are in Christ, all of these promises apply to every aspect of our lives, “health-physical”, “salvation-spiritual”, and “freedom-mind and emotions”. The devil will try to blind you to the truth because he does not want you to be what God has already made you. “Free indeed”.

During my bible study, today, every single place I referred to brought up the word, “freedom”. Joyce Meyer’s talk was titled “Can you help me find freedom?” The Abide prayer was on “freedom”. The Mysteries of God study was on “freedom”.  The Life Project study was on “freedom” and used the above verses to illustrate the point. To me this was a way for the Holy Spirit to say to me, “This is me, I am confirming that this is what I want you to see today in the Word.”

Verse 1: We are each anointed for our gifting. (Mine is financial wellness.)

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,     because the Lord has anointed me     to proclaim good news to the poor. (I am anointed to tell the good news “to the poor”. This is poor health, poor as in “unsaved”, and poor as in “debt ridden”.)

He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,     to proclaim freedom for the captives     and release from darkness for the prisoners.

He has sent me to bind up the broken hearted. (bring financial wellness)

To proclaim freedom to the captives (debt ridden.)

And release from darkness for the prisoners. (light of truth on your financial situation).

Verse 2: Why he sent me?

to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor     and the day of vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn,

He has sent me to tell you that now is the time. We are in the year of the LORD’s favor. The day of vengeance has come against the devil who has blinded believers. To comfort (The Holy Spirit is our Comforter. All-that means you too. Who mourn- or who are saddened by their burden of debt.)

 

Verse 3:  …continued reasons and ultimate purpose: To the glory of God.

    and provide for those who grieve in Zion— (make a way out) to bestow on them a crown of beauty (to give)     instead of ashes, (messed up finances, illness, unsaved) the oil of joy (fruit of the Spirit)     instead of mourning, (burden of debt, sickness, sin) and a garment of praise (thankfulness)     instead of a spirit of despair. (hopelessness) They will be called oaks of righteousness, (In Christ we have his Righteousness)     a planting of the Lord (we have a seed sown in our hearts that will bear much fruit both now and in the kingdom to come)     for the display of his splendor. (TO THE GLORY OF GOD. WE GLORIFY GOD THROUGH ALL ASPECTS OF OUR LIVES INCLUDING HEALTH, SALVATION, AND FREEDOM. In Christ, we are “free indeed!”)

In all things, we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. Romans 8:37

 

